Long term planning: in two years, which Audi TT should I buy

Hello,

If you do a Google search of the website you see this saga of a graduate student back in April that wanted to get an Audi TT. You can’t see the whole thing, which for me is a bummer, because I am ALMOST in the same scenario.

The difference is that as a graduate student my 1500 dollar 1993 Geo Prizm will most likely run forever, I’m getting paid about 30K, and I have enough that I could buy a used 2004 Audi TT right now. I’d be insane to do it, but I could.

I’ve done a ridiculous amount of research about the Audi TTs (what else would a grad student do?). I don’t want the new design that came out in 2007, blah. I don’t want something prior to 2004 because consumer reports says that owners aren’t thrilled.

So, that puts me in a sweet spot of 2004-2006 for the car I may buy in a year or two. I am in love with the car for its design, the speed would be fine, but since I am driving what amounts to a Toyota Corolla with a funny mustache, anything vaguely sporty would be fun.

That said, the fancy-smancy DGS (this smooth and complicated gear system) on the 3.2 model looks like a lot more fun than the base model automatic (I don’t know how to drive stick and at my age I’m not sure I’d really want to play with a stick all day).

So, is the extra 5,000 bucks, plus more expensive insurance, worth the four wheel drive, the V6 engine, and the DGS?

If you can answer this question, is one of the production years (2004-2006) any better than the others?

Thanks bunches.

According to the on line Kelley Blue Book, retail prices for a 2004 TT run from $23k for the bottom coupe to $29k for a V6 Quattro roadster with the DSG transmission. For a 2006 car, the range is $29k to $38k.