Burnt rubber smell, no smoke, no squeal

Hi, Noob here. My car recently has begun to smell of burnt rubber, particularly when I am stopped with the engine running (I assume it also smells when I’m driving, I just can’t smell it because it is in motion). To complicate matters, I had the oil changed about a month ago, but my oil pressure gauge only works intermittently. No engine warning light is on, and it seems to be running smoothly. The smell is strong, but there is no smoke, steam or squealing noise. It has about 120,000 miles. Also, the repair shop is about 35 miles away, almost uphill all the way. I am concerned I might not make it there if it is serious.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Motor oil is leaking onto the hot exhaust and burning. IF enough oil is burned, it can flame, and you have an engine fire; but, yours may only be a very small leak. See your mechanic for evaluation.

I agree with hellokit. If you use synthetic oil, it smells to me more like burning plastic than burning oil when it leaks through the valve cover gasket and gets on the exhaust manifold. Also, though others will disagree, I seem to have more trouble keeping synthetic oil inside the valve covers on my BMWs and Volvo. I have replaced several gaskets and still have problems with that.

The second most likely culprit is an overheating catalytic converter due to engine misfire. The catalytic converter may be cooking the undercoating, carpet padding, or carpet. That is only a problem when you are stopped. When you drive, air moves between the ‘cat’ and the car so you should be OK to drive it to a shop.

Empty Plastic Shopping Bags Can Get Blown Under Cars And Wrap a
Around Engine / Exhaust Parts And take Several Days To Burn Off. They Stink.

I think I recall a Tom & Ray anecdote about a car with a ski jacket melting down on the car’s exhaust system over a period of time.
CSA

An engine misfire and an overheating cat would set a code and the check engine light would be on.