Brown transmission fluid

I just looked at a 2002 Dodge Ram conversion van for sale, with a V-8 engine and 110k miles on the clock. I was not able to drive it on the road because it had no plates, but I was able to drive it around the parking lot, and it seemed to drive fine in first gear and reverse.

The one thing I saw that concerned me was brown transmission fluid. I pulled the dipstick, and the fluid on the stick was brown, just like motor oil. If I hadn’t known better, I would have assumed the stick was the engine oil dipstick based on the look of the fluid. Not black, just light brown. I smelled it, and it smelled pretty much like engine oil, too. Not particularly burnt, just a hint of sulfur as though smelling normally used engine oil.

Now, I’m not an expert, but as far as I know, transmission fluid is supposed to be red, not brown. Does brown fluid mean the transmission is (a) definitely toasted, (b) maybe toasted, but OK if a highway road test proves that it shifts normally, or © some other condition?

This is a nice van and I would buy it if it weren’t for the brown transmission fluid. If I took it to a local mechanic before buying, is there any way he could determine whether or not the transmission is damaged? Or would he tell me to forget about buying the van?

I would A) Stay away, or B) use it as a negotiation tool if you really like the van, but know its probably not going to last very long.

Are you 100% sure you pulled the trans dip stick?? I belive on the vans the oil dip stick is on the right and the trans is on the left. Brown fluid as you describe is not a good thing, and is in fact VERY VERY bad. Most likley the trans is toast, or will be very soon.

The seller is trying to hide something here. He clearly does not want you to take it out on the highway, that is why there are “no plates”. Swing by unannounced and see if it has plates on it then.