'97 Jeep Cherokee XJ Stalling problems

Hello, I am a new driver. I just got my license today. However, despite my short time spent on the road, of the time I have spent with a permit driving this Jeep Cherokee XJ '97 for (about half a year), I have run into many problems. I replaced the NSS, I had to clean out the fuel injector and I had numerous stalling problems. I also replaced the battery.

EDIT: I should also include it has 183,000 miles on it.

The problem is today, I was driving in near 100 degree F weather under stop and go traffic. Temp is fine, however at an intersection I stall. When trying to turn on the car, no “Check Engine” light came on, so I am not sure what to do about it. We left the car for an hour, came back and it worked! We drove it home. Whenever we have had stalling problems with this car, we would wait for an hour or two, come back later and it would start up fine.

TL, DR:
1997 Jeep Cherokee XJ has stalling problems, no check engine light. Temperature is fine & I just did an oil change. Every time it stalls, I can wait for an hour or two and it starts back up and runs for long enough to get me home. Any help?

Thanks, Marshal.

The first things that come to mind are a failing crankshaft position sensor or ignition coil. When the motor is dead, check for spark.

Thanks for the reply! I will definitely look into the crankshaft sensor, only thing I was questioning is the ignition coil wouldn’t make you stall right? Also when the motor is dead, check where for spark?

Anyways thanks!

If the ignition coil fails, you get not electricity to the spark plugs and therefore, no spark.

You can purchase a cheap spark tester at most auto parts stores. Spark tester

thanks man, you’ve been a big help. I will look into that.