2003 Eclipse Alternator Problem

I am not getting any charge from the alternator at the battery. Normally I can figure these things out, but not this time.

Here’s what I’ve tried so far:

1. Took the alternator off and had O’Reilly test it. It tested OK all three times they ran the test.
    ***When I put it back on, it was charging 14.4 volts.
  2. I replaced the worn out negative battery terminal connector. Alternator not charging. Had to throw away the old connector, as it is split.
  3. I had the battery fusible link tested and it’s OK.
  4. The 7.5 amp “alternator” fuse is OK.
  5. I removed the battery and had it tested. It’s OK.
    Still no charge coming from the alternator

Help!!!

Try cleaning the ground connection on the chassis.

Measure the field control voltages at the alternator, this will indicate why it is not charging.

That is my next suspect. I’m a novice, so where do I find that, the ground?

Before the charge ended altogether, I had been getting periodic voltage cutbacks . . . wipers slowing down, headlights dimming, power windows running slow.

Thanks.

The end or ends of the black cable that goes from the battery.

So it later stopped charging? Intermittent charging could be the brushes going bad. Probably need a new alternator.

The ECU is what controls the voltage regulator output from the alternator.

Tester

Are you getting that 14 volts at the alternator or the battery cable end?

The red dash warning light is operative isn’t it?