Confused...Are new Car Talk shows still being recorded?

By all accounts, I thought Tom & Ray were going to stop recording new shows at the end of October and all future shows would be ‘best of’ compilation. (Caveat: I only listen to recent show podcasts, which don’t tell whether they’re live or recorded). I’m definitely hearing a number of ‘classic’ calls from shows past (hey, I’ve been listening for all 25 years, okay?), but the puzzlers appear to be new the fact that you can still submit answers online suggests that these are live. There’s been nothing in the news about Tom and Ray "unretiring’ and they certainly never did a ‘last show’ time of capoff, so I’m very confused. Is it new or it is repeats?

Nope, retired, and the puzzlers are recycled, too.

Aha. One wonders, then, why this site still has an “Answer the Puzzler” option on the curret puzzler. page What do you get if you submit your answer? They should take this off. And it’s really too bad Tom and Ray didn’t do a genuine ‘farewell’ show. Would have provided us with some level of closure…

i had no idea of a retirement…that really sucks. such a great show. plus, my car is having such a weird problem…i am a def candidate for stump the chumps…my mechanic surely is stumped!!

@cmmelvin - what’s the problem? Click on the “Ask a question button”, describe it, we’ll have some ideas.

texases…i did and received good feedback! thanks

At the beginning of the show today Tommy did say, “only 10 more to go” or something like that. Unless he was referring to 10 questions.

From today’s show, #1248, Dec 1, 2012, before the first break:

And even though devoted Hostess fans jam their last remaining Twinkies into their ears whenever we say it....