1998 Chevy Blazer no start in rain or damp weather

I am a laid off mechanic doing some side work. I friend of mine has a 98 blazer that will not start in damp weather. Here’s the kicker, it has spark to the plugs. New cap, rotor, pick up coil, and wires. Fuel pressure is around 60psi. I think it might be in the fuel injection. I drove the SUV into my garage, While the engine was running I watered the distributer down along with the wires. It ran fine. I shut it down and tried to start it a few mintues later with no luck. I took the distributer apart to inspect it for water and found nothing. I reassembled it and still had a no start situation. I am running out of ideas. Anyone experience this before? Or better yet fixed this before? He had it to a few other shops and they could not figure it out.

Have the wires and plugs been changed at any time? The wires may be arcing through the boots when the wires are installed and close to the cylinder head. Wet conditions may make this worse. Also, has anyone checked the coil for cracks?

The wires and plugs were changed recently. The coil looks good. I crank the engine for 30-40 seconds and run to smell the exhaust for gas and there isn’t a gasoline odor. If the engine lost spark the exhaust would smell like fuel. I hope the neighbor were not watching, you might see me on “My Strange Addictions” lol

If your suspicions about the fuel injectors is correct, you should be able to use a mechanic’s stethoscope to hear if the injectors are pulsing. OR a long screwdriver for the poor man’s stethoscope.

Not as easy as you think. It has the internal spider injector system. It is inside the intake manifold.

I’m assuming the truck runs fine otherwise.