06 Honda CRV vibration

I have an 06 Honda CRV with 140,000 miles that is having a vibration problem. My husband was trying to tell me that it was just the road but I know that is not the case. It feels like I am driving over rumble strips on the side of a highway but it only happens when the rpms are around 1500. It us usually when I am going around 45 mph or 55 mph. I can be driving straight or on a curve. As soon as I take my foot off the accelerator or add more gas (change the rpms) the vibration stops. I am by no means a car expert but would like to know if this is something serious. I would like to take a road trip but don’t know if I can trust the car.

Take it in for a checkup. There are a number of things that could cause a vibration of that type, including CV joints or irregular tire wear…which, with a look-see, can suggest a worn component.

If it were tires or a CV joint wouldn’t the vibration occur all the time and not just at 1500 rpms?

Vibrations can do all sorts of weird things for weird reasons so they can come and go for odd reasons. At 1500rpm & 45-55mph, for example, there is a specific state of vibration that your whole drive train is in that is different from what it is at other times. Cars don’t feel like it but getting them to move is a crazy thing - explosions, intense heat, heavy chunks of metal churning around. Perception is also tricky, so if you hang out long enough you’ll see lots of people who come here with one picture of things in their minds and then when asked questions, they go back and “re-perceive,” come out with a different picture. Anyway, yada yada.

When I looked at your description, I saw “rumble strip” and 45-55mph or so, and a change when you get on or off the gas. That made me think of a torque converter clutch (TCC) lockup problem. This kind of thing is often described as “shudder.” It shouldn’t interfere with taking a road trip - but its a transmission related thing so its not good.