Hard starting when gas tank low

I want to confirm what the lady with the Honda Civic was saying. I have 1998 Civic that I’ve been driving for about 7 years, from 120K to 255K miles.
I usually let the fuel tank run down low before refilling, at 1/8 of a tank, if the car sits for a more than a few hours, it has to crank over a while to start, like 6-7 seconds. If it has >1/4 tank, either morning or after work it starts no problem, with only 1-2 seconds of cranking.

So it seems to be some kind of pressure bleed out of a one-way check valve or loss of pump prime or drain-back problem of the fuel pump? So it takes time to pump the fuel (or fuel pressure) back up to the engine. BUT only after the fuel drops to some critcal level…

I disagree with Click & Clack, the difference in pressure head between 1/2 tank versus 1/8 tank would be a few inches, that’s a tiny pressure head difference. Hard to believe that could affect the starting.

I have an 03 Civic (65K miles) and have noticed something quite similar. In general, it starts like a charm, but when the tank is v. low and the car has been sitting for while, I have to hold the key down for an extra 1-2 seconds before it’ll start. I told my mechanic this, and he looked at me like I was crazy. “You’re imagining it. The amount of gas in your tank won’t affect how fast your car starts”, he said. I felt sorta vindicated hearing this woman call in.
It’s sounds like this issue might be fairly specific to Civics. I wonder if this is some kind of design flaw. Should we inform the good people at Honda?

1 Like

You probably have a fuel pump that’s getting a bit weak and the difference in pressure head between a full and near empty tank is enough to make the difference. You have to remember the design margin on cars is very small. The pump when new is just large enough to do the job, even on a Honda.