1968 Buick Riviera, Should I take it?

My aunt is offering me a free 1968 Buick Riviera, 455 cu v8. It needs a new battery and hoses, which she will provide.

Here are the facts:
1. I live in Chicago, I’m a recent college graduate, with a moderately employable degree and a long-term temp job.

2. The car will be used mostly for city driving, with a little bit of highway use.

3. The car has not been regularly driven.

4. I will have to drive the car from Nebraska to Chicago

5. The car gets 15-18mpg.

6. I LOVE the look of this car and am willing to put a few hours per week of maintenance into it.

I don’t know a lot about vintage cars, and am not sure about the facts on this particular model. What would be the cost of maintenance per year?

Any information you can share about this car would be great!

The 455 is a smooth, powerful motor, and these were pretty nice cars. While it’s likely to need more than hoses—possibly carb work, belts, all fluids flushed and changed, and the suspension and steering fully checked out, it’s also a classic, and is probably worth some $$ if it’s in even fair shape. Expect more like 10 MPG. If it has drum brakes all around, expect pretty miserable braking performance.

This car will likely require more maintenance than a new vehicle. You will need to regularly adjust the points, for example. The car is very simple though, and should be easy to maintain. The only electronic device on it is likely the radio. I would keep it out of the salt and snow—cars of this era were not rust proofed nearly as well as modern cars, and will noticeably rust in just a couple of years.

Congratulations on getting a nice car!