Rebuilt Title? Car Report Help. Should I buy?

I live in Michigan. I am looking to buy a 2003 Tiburon. It has 73,000 miles and the seller wants $5500 for it. I convinced him to go down to $5000 from evidence from edmunds and KBB. Looking at the pictures, the exterior looks in good shape.

I bought an autocheck vechicle report, and it’s located here: http://www…01155132PM

There seems to be Insurance loss title or probable total loss record(s), Junk or scrapped title record(s), Rebuilt/rebuildable title record(s), Salvage title or salvage auction record(s)

yet there is 0 reported accidents on the report. I have limited knowledge of what a rebuilt title is, my problem is that the reports don’t correspond with each other. First it was a total loss, now it’s salvaged, and based on my limit talking with the current owner, it’s never had any issues.

Can someone explain to me what’s going on? What’s your guess on what happened?

How much does this devalue the car? How will this add any additional fees in the long run? Will I have trouble getting this car insured?

Please let me know your opinion and what you would do in this situation.

I could of sworn I posted this in general discussion, can this be moved?

Don’t worry about the post location.

Sounds like the car was in a crash, the insurance co. wrote it off as a total loss, and it’s been rebuilt. Unless you’re a car expert (and if you were, you wouldn’t have asked) I wouldn’t touch this car, ever, regardless of price.

Ask the seller. Ask them to reconcile the information sources. If this car was in an accident, declared a total insurance loss, then its value is 50% or more less than the kbb or edmunds values, which assume no salvage title.

I interpret the report as saying that even though no insurance loss was reported (no insurance company is compelled to report losses to these data sources), a salvage title was issued.