2001 HONDA CIVIC timing belt/water pump estimate fair?

Hello everyone. This is my first attempt at getting some insight into repairs on car talk.

I bought a used 2001 honda civic with 121,000 miles on it 2 months ago. The owner never replaced the water pump and timing belt. So, I want to be smart and get the work done before the belt breaks on me and makes me want to rob a bank. Here’s the estimate I got from a local independent mechanic store for parts+labor in Buffalo, NY.

Parts= $237 (Timing belt,pulley, water pump, serpentine belt)

labor= $400($100 x 4 hours)

Total= $637

tax included in the labor cost. It seems a lot to me. Many on the internet claim they got it done for around $450. Any insight into the estimate?

Thank you,

Chomskyan.

You’re definitely doing the right thing, and none too soon. Many complaints on this forum from people who had their engines wrecked by broken timing belts.

I’ve found this webtool useful in checking repair costs: http://repairpal.com/

Prices will vary greatly based on which part of the country is involved, the type of shop, etc, etc. The east and west coasts are generally much higher than the country’s midsection. Even dealer rates around here are about 75-80 an hour with independents and service stations running less.

For NY I’d consider a 100 an hour and the total about right.

most of the people that will reply to you work in the business. i do, have for over 40 years. you can call 20 different places for the same service and get 20 different prices. do not go to the lowest or the highest. go to one that is busy and has a good reputation. check the BBB and local clerk of the court for law suits. ask about warranties. how long have they been in business? is the shop clean and well organized? do they have the proper equipment? take all into consideration.
also while they are at it have them look at the cam and crank seals. replace as needed

good luck