Is it safe to re-tap lug threads?

The local tire shop cross threaded one of the lug bolts on my 2000 VW Passat. About 1/2 to 1/3 of the threads on the bolt that normally engage were damaged. I could not turn another lug bolt into the female threads in the hub without it trying to cross thread, so the wheel hub threads were clearly damaged too.

The tire shop offered to “correct” the problem by tapping new threads into the wheel hub. I’m concerned that the metal that composes the new threads will be fatigued and thus not as strong.

The tire shop said this is a safe fix, but I’d like another opinion, as they are bound to be biased by the fact that it’s cheaper for them not to replace the wheel hub.

I’m no expert, but I side with you.

Can the lug be torqued to the correct value? even a brand new lug stud on a brand new car can fail. If you are looking for a mechanical device with no potential for failing I think all there is, is a steel ball (and my old man said I could cause that to fail)

On most cars, individual wheel studs can be replaced at a cost of only a few dollars.

Some German cars (including mine) have lug bolts instead of lug nuts. The female threads are in the wheel hub instead of in the lug nut. In this case, those threads are built into the wheel hub and cannot be replace independently. Otherwise, this would be the obvious choice. Thanks for the suggestion though!

I see. I vote for replacing the hub and restoring your car to the condition that it was in before they messed with it. However, I don’t think there is a real safety issue with their proposed repair.

That is a good point. Brand new and normally used metal parts will have a failure point, probably in response to a normally distributed amount of force, and this is taken into account when the car is designed. If you fatigue the metal, it will have less safety margin.