Antifreeze pouring out...and stopping

I need help to figure out why my 1999 Taurus was gushing out antifreeze yesterday.

I’ve been driving this car for a few months. Since I’ve gotten it, I’ve realized I lose a gallon of antifreeze about every three weeks. I noticed a small drip in the driveway, and can see the point where the fluid drips from the underbody at the front left (the driver’s left) corner of the car. It comes from under the radiator’s left edge. Because of a underbody panel, I can’t see the leak directly. I tried a stop-leak product, which did little to help. Obviously, these hot days this summer have made the issue worse.

Yesterday, however, was another situation altogether. It was 75 degrees outside, and rained at noon. The car sat at work all day until I ran an errand at 3PM, traveling about three miles for a half an hour. No problems so far. At 4:30PM, I drove a mile in 15 minutes. When I returned to my car 15 minutes later, there was a gushing flow of antifreeze coming from the front left. It appeared to be coming from the same spot as before, but instead of a small drip, this was flowing at the same rate as if you were pouring out a can of beer.

Instead of taking time to see where the fluid was leaking from, I jumped in the car and tried to race home. I didn’t want to get stranded, and with the heater on high, I made it the few miles to my house. The car sat overnight, dripping out a small amount more.

This morning, I filled the empty overflow tank with straight water (no sense in having antifreeze pour over my driveway) and waited. No gush of water. I turned the engine on and let it run for ten minutes. No gush of water. I can’t find the source of yesterday’s big leak. And I’m puzzled as to why the car would pour out fluid one day, and not leak a drop the next.

I’d appreciate any thoughts.

Gabriel Mann

If the radiator is now empty, that could explain the end of the leak.