Castrol ATF

Correction to Line 4 The transmission is full of Z-1

Why can’t we edit our OPs?

Does the Castrol ATF say that it is compatible with Honda transmissions?

I put Valvoline MaxLife ATF in my Honda.

Affirmative, http://www.castrol.com/castrol/sectiongenericarticle.do?categoryId=9018758&contentId=7033928

I am no pro, but I own and drive Hondas. I would insist on the Honda brand fluid.

What does your owner’s manual say about this issue?

Honda doesn’t refine and manufacture their own fluid. As long as the additives in the ATF meet the same requirements, I’d rather not pay Honda’s inflated prices.

As much a believer as I am about oil brands being pretty interchangeable, I’d go with the Honda Z-1 here. Just too many cases of Honda ATs being troublesome.

I’ve gotten chastised a bit for this on other threads - but I don’t trust the multi-spec fluids. They are engineered to meet lots of different specs so they will minimally meet them all - but are all of the specs really optimized? Well, they can’t be optimized for your exact specs since some things are bent to accommodate other things. I’ve always thought of them as probably “good enough” but not “optimum.” The exact spec will generally cost a bit more but to me it is cheap in comparison to messing with the health of the transmission.

You will, of course, get varying opinions.

FYI: with some internet searching you can find the exact Honda specs and then you can find them for any fluid on the market to compare.

I too am one that believes it’s worth the extra few bucks to use only the exact tranny fluid specified in the owner’s manual.