Stripped oil pan threads

Do oil pan threads just eventually come out on their own or is it more likely the fault of the party changing the oil. I.E. overtightening of plugs, crossthreading,…etc?

It’s because someone, at some time or other, tightened the oil plug too tight or crossthreaded it. The last person who changed the oil might not be at fault. There are several options to repair this condition. Check them out at your local auto parts store.

I see it all the time where the drain plug was overtightened. The threads, instead of being at right angles to the shank of the bolt–or actually–the drain plug–are slanted away from the hex end. People think that by cranking on the wrench it will seal better but all it does is warp the gasket or washer.

I’ve been changing the oil in my cars for more than 30 years and have NEVER had a problem with the threads in the oil pan or on the plug.

If the threads have been damaged it’s because someone cross threaded the plug and/or overtightened it.

The threads don’t just wear out on their own.

Cross threading or over tightening.

I’ve NEVER had this problem on any vehicle. I’ve had oil pans that had several hundred oil changes by the time I sold the vehicle.

The quick lube places are notorious for this.

With certain Honda oil pan threads they seem to wear out over time as Honda specs 33 ft-lbs for torque of drain bolt because there’s a crush gasket that must be crushed. I always use a torque wrench when doing oil changes on my car and last year the threads just gave and the plug continued to spin. I ended up replacing the oil pan. If the pan is steel you may be able to retap the threads.

Were you installing a new crush washer at each oil change?

Most problems are caused by overtightening which pulls the threads and eventually pulled threads may just give up.