Buying a used Subaru Forester or Outback - which years are best?

I have been reading about problems with leaking head gaskets in older Subarus. What are the best years for Subarus all around? Is it different for Foresters vs. Outbacks?? Is it true that they fixed the head gasket problem in 2002?

Thanks!!

As far as I’m concerned, they’re never really fixed. Give the newer models an opportunity to become older models and the problem may surface there too.

If you want a really reliable Subaru with a bullet-proof engine, look for an Outback with a 6-cylinder engine.

First of all, this engine uses a timing chain, so there is no timing belt to worry about.
The 6-cylinder engines have no known issues, and I have been driving one since December, 2001 with only one repair, namely replacement of the tensioner and the idler pulley for the serpentine belt. The bearings in those pulleys were going dry. Other than that minor repair–no issues whatsoever in 8+ years/100k+ miles.

I do not own a Subaru, and never have owned one. I used to think they were ok cars based on Subaru longevity of past models, pre 2000. Since reading on this forum I’ve moved to say don’t buy a used Subaru, period. For a car company with less than 10% market share Subaru is way over represented by posts on this forum. Bad head gaskets, transmissions that fail, one flat tire needs all 4 replaced or the all wheel drive components will fail.

Modern Subaru’s are not the solid long lived cars they used to be, don’t buy a used Subaru. Volvo is the other brand in the same boat, newer ones don’t hold up nearly as long as the old ones. Buy a Subaru and don’t be surprised with very high repair and upkeep cost. My opinion - don’t buy a used Subaru.