Toyota Sienna Transmission - Error code PO770

I have a 1999 Toyota Sienna XLE. The transmission failed at 57,000 miles and was replaced under warranty. Now at 126,000 miles the check engine light has come on. The dealer says this is a PO770 error code and I need to replace the transmission for $3600. I am not having any problems at all with the transmission but I understand that the vehicle will not pass inspection as long as the check engine light remains on. Do I have to spend $3600 to replace a part that is working fine or is there some way to fix the problem at least until the transmission actually fails mechanically?

I am not an expert on this, but Googling shows P0770 as Shift Solenoid E Malfunction. And, one page says it is the solenoid which locks up the torque converter.

My 2002 Sienna has nearly 165,000 miles on it, and if it fails, I expect to take it to a good transmission place for rebuilding. It should be much cheaper than buying a rebuilt from Toyota. (I am assuming that is a rebuilt, since with labor a new one would probably be a lot more, but you did not say – and I am not an expert as I said.)

Scout the Mechanics Files somewhere on this URL for a good transmission rebuilder near you, and ask them what it costs to fix this problem.

A lot of people believe it is much cheaper to go to an independent mechanic, if you can find a good one. I go to the dealer only because in my community the really good independents are so swamped they want to keep your car for several days and that is not practical with only one car.

The $3600 is for a rebuilt. My local mechanic says he can do it for $3000. Since the car seems to be running perfectly well except for the check engine light I plan to keep driving until the transmission fails or it comes up for inspection in October 2010 whichever comes first. I hope this is a sensible approach. Many thanks for your advice.

You really need a second opinion.