Broken timing belt and bent valves please help!

The timing belt broke on my Volkswagen 2001 Jetta. The dealer called me and told me they would replace the timing belt and as long as there were no other problems it would cost $500. They called me two days later to tell me the valves were bent and this would cost another $3500 to fix. I called other shops and they said they could fix the cylinder head (with a used part) and replace the timing belt for $2,200 all together. They also told me the dealer should have done a compression leak down test before installing the new timing belt. When I asked the dealer about this the mechanic claimed that the timing belt had to be changed in order to then determine if the valves were bent and wanted payment for the labor and parts they had already invested. Who is right? Another shop I called recommended replacing the whole engine with a used one rather than trying to fix or replace the valves. What would you recommend??? I am a student and don’t have a lot of money. Is it okay to have repairs done with used parts??

The valves can be checked with a simple compression gage. If they can hold pressure, they’re good. If not, they’re bad.

If they’re good, you need only do the timing belt and it’s accessories…the tensioner and the water pump.

Damage to the pistons can only be checked with the head off. If the head needs to be pulled, than the belt needs changing…and the tensioner needs testing, and the waterpump shoudl be changed, and on and on. Expect a big bill.

BUT…my impression is that the valves have already been determined to be bent. If you take the car elsewhere, you’ll need to pay for the first shop’s time & labor. Plug the tow. Find out how much that would cost. Tell them that the cost may force you to take it elsewhere and perhaps thay’ll negotiate or suggest and alternative. The final total cost may help your decision.