Cold weather gas smell - 2003 Subaru Forester

I noticed that As our Vermont weather approaches freezing, I have a strong gas smell when I drive my 03 Forester. I had a local mechanic, a person I have no experience/reason not to trust, check it last winter. They all smelled it; ran all kinds of diagnostic “paper” tests to try to find a leak; checked with local Subaru mechanics and couldn’t ID the problem. The weather got warmer and the problem went away. It has started again this winter and I am smelling it again. I have an appt with a local dealer but the talk on the street is that this place cannot always be trusted to not try to scare people into more “service” than is really needed. The dispatch person in their dept also said “I’ve heard a lot of people say that about Subarus - I think it’s just something that happens with this car.”

Is it safe for me to be driving (with my 2 year old?) Has anyone encountered this as well?

Is this vehicle under warranty? If not, why are you going to a dealer for some expensive diagnosis that isn’t producing any results? Maybe search out a good independent. Are there any recalls on that vehicle? There is always something on this forum about people over filling there fuel tank and loading up thier fuel overflow cannister. Would you be one of those people?

Thank for your reply! No warranty anymore; independent shop we go to couldn’t find source and suggested a faulty gas hose expands and contracts with temp. We’re not overflowing gas tank - I stop when it stops, this has been ongoing despite how long it’s been since I’ve filled my tank. We checked on recalls and warnings and nothing came up.

I thought it was curious that the phone call with the local dealer suggested this wasn’t the fist time she’d heard about this…

Does this only happen at start-up, or the entire time the car is being operated?