Looking for guidance - my first car

Hello all car afficionados out there,

I’m a college student looking to purchase my first car. Nothing fancy, just a simple sedan to get me from point A to point B in safety. Decent gas mileage is a plus as well. I’m am definitely working with the traditional broke student budget and looking for a used car I can find for around 5k.

Any suggestions or guidance would be much appreciated.

I would look for the best maintained vehicle you can find (don’t worry so much about make) for >$4000. Then you will have a cushion in case of unexpected problems.

I would pay attention to make in addition to maintainence. (Anyway, maintainence will be hard to know about unless they kept receipts for oil changes etc). Get ahold of the April issue of Consumer Reports, the annual car issue. They have lists of recommended used cars, cars to avoid, etc. These lists are based on the averages of comments from many of their readers on cars. I have found them to be a fairly reliable guide to the amount of maintainence problems I am likely to have.

My choice would be a low-mileage Honda or Toyota. You can get a better price on a Ford Crown Vic or Mercury Grand Marquis from the late 90’s, with decent reliability, but they are not easy on gas.

While the Honda/Toyota would be a nice idea, you’re gonna get an older model. My 99 civic has almost 90k miles on it and still books for almost $6k private party. While I doubt I’d get it, I’m just letting you know how much these cars hold their value.
for the same price, you could find a 2002 Chevy Prizm LSi sedan with about 72k miles on it, which is basically a rebadged Carola

I agree, in this price range condition is more important than make/model. Look for something that’s not in high demand (boring) to get a better deal and have a trusted mechanic check it out before you buy it. Look for maintenance records and buy something simple (less stuff to break).