Join the Car Talk Community!

Discussion Rules

Welcome to the Car Talk Community!

Want to ask a question or join the discussion? Great! Join now.

Sign In Register

V4 vs V6

I AM ABOUT TO BUY A FUSION 2008, BUT I AM TRAPPED BETWEEN BUYING A 4 CYLS ENGINE OR A 6 CYLS ENGINE. I COME FROME AN ERA (56 YEARS OLD), WHERE HAVING A 4 CYLS CAR, OR EVEN A 6 CYLS, WAS A TABU. DOES A 4 CYLS CAR LASTS THE SAME THAN A 6 CYLS?, I AM AN EASY DRIVER, I DON'T DO QUARTER MILE RACES, MAYBE MY PROBLEM IS ONLY PSYCOLOGICAL OR PERCEPTION. PLEASE HELP ON THIS.

Comments

• edited February 2008
    I have owned both types. My feeling is that for just a little more power with the 6cyl, it's not worth the less gas mileage.

I currently own a 6cyl and my next car will be a 4cyl. It will have less giddyup, but I can handle that. Good luck!
  • edited February 2008
    I made a one liter (61 cubic inches) three cylinder Geo Metro engine last 280,000 miles. If you take it easy, the only thing you will gain with the six is more difficult/expensive maintainence and it may possibly need premium gas.
    A four cylinder engine that's cruising at 65 is under less strain than a 6 that's going 75 mph, assuming that the six has 50% more displacement.
  • edited February 2008
    One will last as long as the other if the maintenance is kept up. Personally, I prefer the 6 as they generally have a better powerband and pull better.
  • edited February 2008
    If you are as easy on the pedal as you say, you may get almost as much mileage with the 6 as with the 4. People generally buy a 6 because it is a little quicker and sometimes smoother. I would not spend the money on a 6.
  • edited February 2008