2008 Chevy HHR electric power steering not working

I have been offered a 2008 Chevy HHR on which the power steering doesn’t work. It steers harder than my grandfather’s tractor. I know it has electric steering, but I’ve never worked on one of those before. The fuses, #19, a 2 amp (Seems small?) on the passenger side of the console, and #1 under the hood, a 60 amp, both check good. I see used motors available for under $90. Is the motor the likely problem, or is there more to it than that? Is installing the motor any particular problem, like needing to be indexed for the splines to line up right? The car has 75K miles, and can be bought for under $3000 so I’m not afraid to put some $$ into it, put I’d like to have some idea what I’m in for.

There’s a power steering motor recall and/or warranty extension on some of these HHR’s, might be worth it to take the time to ask at a dealership. May still be in effect as safety related. In which case the dealership might supply both the part and labor.

Otherwise the motor seems pretty reasonably priced around $100, and shown only to be a 1/2 hour job to replace it.

Here’s what it says in the factory manual when dealing with EPS, ( Electronic Power Steering) in the vehicle.

“Any EPS components diagnosed to be malfunctioning that requires replacement requires replacement of the steering column assembly, also known as the EPS assembly.”

Tester

I found this article, my interpretation is the 2008s weren’t recalled, but the ps motor has a lifetime warranty.

http://www.torquenews.com/106/gm-recalls-another-13-million-cars-steering-failures

Good luck,

Ed B.

I ran into this with a GM vehicle . In my case at first they were replacing the entire steering column but later was just replacing the motor .