Best $12000 car to buy to avoid calling in to Car Talk?

Hey folks, I’m a newbie here, but as far as I can find there isn’t a discussion answering my question.
I bought a 2000 Passat last year and since then I’ve put about $7000 into repairs, which is more than double what I paid for the darn thing. Since I bought it I’ve learned that VW suffered some reliability problems in that era. The math works out that I could’ve been financing a warrantied pre-owned car for all that time, presumably not costing much (if anything) in repairs. So that’s what I’m thinking of doing. I’m looking at the cheaper end of certified pre-owned, which seems to be about $13000. Here’s what I’m hoping you folks might be kind enough to help me with:

• What brands and models (and years) should I be focusing on? I want something that is efficient and can carry big stuff, ie: small SUVs, big hatchbacks or (ideally) station wagons. I’d love AWD, but aside from VW and Subaru there’s not a lot out there, I know. I’m toying with the idea of a small cargo van or truck like a Transit Connect or Frontier as well…
  • Is buying certified really worth it? I know I’m looking at at least a couple of grand more for it, but, like I said, I’m presuming that it means I won’t be visiting the shop often. I’ve only ever bought cars from individuals in the past.

I did find this article (http://www.cartalk.com/content/top-10-cars-we-hate-most) which is helpful, and I’m looking through consumer reports, but it can’t hurt to get you folks’ ideas, can it?

right now what I’ve read is pushing me towards Honda and Toyota, but I can’t seem to let go of the idea of a Subaru being a good plan. I also am pretty into VWs, but maybe a different era?

Thanks!

Certified Used Car means that it is a used car and that is all it means. You have been severely burned on a used car so why are you even thinking about another. New has full warranty and better financing and look a the manufactures build your own web sites.