2002 passat 95k vs 2004 saab 95 123k

I am a student loking to buy a car asap.i have found two that i think are my best so far but do not know what to pick.
I would like something cheap to maintain, reliable and safe.
What do yo think?

The cars are both too old and have too many miles on them to meet your criteria; "cheap to maintain, reliable, and safe.

The Passat should be good if it is a V6 (I owned a 2003 model, sold it last year). But budget $1000 per year for maintenance. Saab is not known for reliability.

Get them checked by a good independent mechanic before purchase, about $100.

Neither. What’s your budget?

“I would like something cheap to maintain, reliable and safe.”

Keep looking…those vehicles are miles outside the ballpark.

Stay away from the Saab, the factory is closed, parts are hard to get, service is hard to find, the car is at a point it will require several expensive things. I own one, I love it, however, it is not for you. It is not cheap or reliable at 125,000 miles.

The Passat is a better choice between the 2 but I’d stay away from that as well. There are better choices for the same money. Think Camry. Corolla, Mazda 3 or 6, Civic or Accord.

Keep looking, neither of these cars are going to be cheap to maintain. A Toyota or Honda would be a better brand to look at

General rule - avoid European cars when shopping the low priced market.

Ford Crown Vic???

I saw a license plate the other day, UFFDA_. That about says it all on these choices. Back to the library for more research. Neither would be reliable and cheap to own in my view.

:grimace:

They’re both aged cars and reliability on any aged car is a coin flip.

My suggestion is that you look for something a “little less exotic”. Think bland; Buick Century, Crown Vic, etc.

Student, no knowledge of cars, thinking sporty, and ASAP is a combination that can lead to an even broker student with an even broker car.