Warranty problem regarding a blown engine on a Kia Sedona

We bought a used 2005 Kia Sedona with 59,000 miles on it and purchased a warranty for an extra $2000. Last week we had the van in the shop to replace the ac compressor and the head-gasket. The next day on our way to the beach for vacation the engine blows, (think the block is cracked as there was coolant leaking out, all hoses and lines look fine). Anyhow, the warranty folks say they won’t cover it since we hadn’t replaced the timing-belt at 60,000 miles, (which is true, bad-move on our part). However, the timing-belt is intact; it appears it’s loose which is probably an issue with the tensioner-pulley. Do I have a leg to stand on and do I go after the warranty company or the repair facility?

@djohnd
I’m No Lawyer, But I Know Those After-Market Warranties Can Be Tricky, Usually Written In Favor Of The Underwriter.

Read The Fine Print.
Is there anything in the warranty paper that gives them an “out” if you don’t perform certain maintenance? Does it say that not replacing the timing belt (or doing other maintenance) in a timely fashion will render the warranty null and void?

CSA

There are too many unknowns and whys for me to be able to provide any kind of answer.
Why a low miles car needed a head gasket…
Why a timing belt kit was not installed during the head gasket swap…
Whether or not the problem is related to the work that was done…
The oil level in the engine at the time it quit…

There are others and as to 3rd party warranties there is usually a lot of fine print disclaimers desinged to keep the insurer off the hook.

Not sure, there is one statement that reads: “You must maintain vehicle in accordance with manufacturer’s published maintenance requirements”. But there is also another section that states, “Exclusions: any mechanical breakdown caused by a lack of required maintenance”.