New car advice from the car-o-sphere

Okay gang, looking for suggestions on a new car. Here’s the situation: I am a 45-year old lawyer who has been driving Honda Civics for the past million years. I drive 500+ miles per week (yes, per week), so have stuck with their line of hybrids. Times have changed and I am getting real tired of being cramped up for 500+ miles a week in a Civic. I’d like something just a little roomier and/or more comfortable. Combine that with low gas prices, and the need for a hybrid is not what it used to be. I also have a little more money now and, for once in my life, can afford something a wee fancier. I’ve narrowed my choices to the following: 1) the Honda Accord Hybrid, or 2) the Volvo S60. The Accord Hybrid is certainly roomier and gets up to 50 mpg, but the Volvo… well, Volvo. Thoughts? Or any other suggestions on cars? One caveat: I’m leaning European. Nothing against Honda, but I’ve been driving Asian my whole life and - with the exception of the Accord Hybrid - would like to try some Euro-flare. I am also aware of the VW Jetta Hybrid, but if I’m going hybrid it will be the Accord because it’s bigger than the Jetta and gets better mpg. Thoughts?

The Pius would meet your needs closest. That is, the larger Prius, since there are smaller ones as well. And, no doubt, you can write off your expenses against operating costs.

And 500 miles per week, or 26,000 miles a year is about right to justify a Prius.

Either the Prius or the Accord Hybrid, drive them both, see which you like. I’d also test out the Mazda 6, it gets good highway mpgs, and is (relatively) fun to drive.

Yeah, but… Prius. Call me egotistical, but I hate the way they look. I’d still go with the Accord Hybrid. At least it looks like a normal car.

Let me clarify my question a little. If mpg’s and overall cost of the cars aren’t huge factors (I’m not excluding them… they’re just not THE major factors), which is better? The Accord Hybrid or the Volvo S60?