The u-joint that didn't fit

Ok so I have a 1971 Chevy Caprice 2 door green that has now upgraded it’s status from back up car to daily driver. So in light of this I decided to replace the u-joints as they have been “popping” for a while now when i moved from reverse to drive. Normally i would do this work myself but I hurt my arm doing something stupid. so I took it to a garage close to where i work to have new u-joints put in. 2 days later I went to check why it was taking so long and they had just got it done a few minus ago i was told. OK good.Then the mechanic proceeded to tell me that the reason it took so long is that the drive shaft in my car was a non-rebuild-able drive shaft and that they had to take a die grinder and a carbide bit and make the new u-joints fit. My jaw hit the floor as i hit the ceiling i have been working on cars for 30 years mostly old cars like my 71. I have never heard of a non-rebuild-able drive shaft in my life. after they calmed me down and explained that they didn’t grind on the holes for the bearing cups but on the inside of the saddle so that they could get the c clips in. I still feel that they must have done something wrong. Got the wrong u-joint or didn’t get them fully pressed in or something! The water under the shade tree that i work on my old cars has not dried up yet from all the rain we are getting so i have jack up the car and look at what was done. i have not drove the car at highway speed yet but at 40 it seems to have a very small vibration but this might be my imagination. so my question is 1. did Chevy make a non-rebuild-able drive shaft in 71? 2. could the old u-joints have lasted 44 years and 115,000 miles because i know they had no grease zerk’s on them?

Back then GM came out with what was called a constant velocity U-joint drive shaft.

These drive shafts had two U-joints at the rear of the drive shaft.