Different coolant types and which is best?

It seems that coolant is getting to be like oil where everyone has an opinion. There are now so many types/colors of the stuff and people all have their idea of what is best.

I personally have been flushing mine and replacing with the long life universal coolant. I know others that will only use a pink Toyota fluid in everything they own. Some like Dex-Cool while others avoid it like the plaque.

Any opinions? It seems the only one that I haven’t heard anything bad about is the Toyota pink.

I am no expert on this but know that you don’t just use any old transmission fluid in any transmission. Some cars are picky and you want the OEM fill back in the transmission. Is this ever an issue with coolant being designed just for a certain type of car?

I believe that any reputable long life coolant will do, including Dexcool. However, I do not like flushing a system unless there is a problem, and if the PM schedule is followed, there should not be a problem that requires a flush. You should treat your coolant the same as you do your oil, drain and refill according to the schedule.

Edit: Same for automatic transmissions.

Agreed! I just hear so many people who rag on Dex-Cool. When I “flush” a system, I usually just use water. Some of the used cars I get require a little more because the PO didn’t maintain them well. People on the Geo Metro forums like to use white vinegar to flush the system as it is a little less harsh than the commercial flushes on cooling system components. If it is a car where I plan to replace the water pump, I don’t worry too much and just wait until after the flush to replace that in case damage is done by the chemicals to it.