Cell phones at red lights - a moral, ethical, and philosophical quandary

I’m a professor, and I recently had an experience that still makes my blood boil at a notoriously slow red light by our university campus. Stuck in a long line of cars waiting for the light to change, my phone buzzed, and I picked it up to look at it. I NEVER look at my phone while the car is in motion, but I don’t see how a brief look at a red light is dangerous to anyone. This particular day, an especially smug and obnoxious undergrad in the SUV to my left noticed what I was doing, and took it upon himself to start honking and chastising me for my behavior. I was not amused. This continued for a few blocks (during which time he switched lanes with no signal twice, but that’s another story). He continued yelling and honking through my now tightly closed window that I should get off my phone, which I was no longer on because my car was again moving.

Which of us should repent for our behavior?

Him. He was being a jackass, and trying to incite an incident. Fortunately for him and everyone around you, you’re apparently not a hothead, because some people would have reacted violently either with or outside of their vehicle.

In my state what you did is illegal, however I disagree that it should be. I don’t see that you’re placing anyone in danger by looking at your phone when your vehicle is not moving. If the light happens to turn green while you’re looking, then you might briefly inconvenience the person behind you, but generally they will angrily honk you within 3/4 of a second. :wink:

That said, safest practice is to reserve phone time for when you’re out of traffic entirely, or on a hands free device.

Another reason for me to dislike SUV drivers…