2012 VW Jetta Rear Brake Clicking Noise!

Hey guys, I’ve got a problem and need some help!

I recently bought a 2012 VW Jetta. My first German car, it has been both a really fun learning experience and (more often than not) a nightmare to work on. That said, I still am enjoying the car and intend to keep it for a while.

This past weekend, I took the factory wheels off to sand and paint them black, because I thought the car would look nice with black rims (and it was a lot cheaper than buying a whole new set!) Everything went well, I put them back on, and the car drives perfectly.

Except it doesn’t.

Now, I’ve got a noise coming from the rear passenger side wheel well. I’m not sure exactly what is causing the noise, and while I fancy myself a halfway decent Saturday Mechanic; I cannot diagnose or repair this problem myself. I have little to no experience working on drum brakes. All I know is this: the lug nuts are torqued, and the dealer has taken apart the brakes and informed me that nothing is broken or out of place. This cannot be the case - SOMETHING is making that clicking noise!

More information: it sounds JUST like the clicking noise you get when you forget to tighten your lug nuts and go for a drive, the rim moving around on the wheel studs and that noise it makes- this sounds exactly the same… The “click click click click” sound increases tempo as vehicle speed increases, and in volume when you very lightly apply the brakes and turn either direction. I don’t know what to do, as usual, the closer I get to the dealership’s service manager, the noise fades away.

SOMEONE HELP!

Do you have hubcaps by any chance? Sometimes when you re-install them they can make a click-click sound when they are not properly seated. Try removing them and see if the noise goes away.