Moving from California to North Dakota

Hello - I drive a Chevy Volt. We are moving from California to North Dakota. I had bought the car in CA. I am planning to take the car to ND. Do I need to prepare my car in some fashion, e.g., install oil heater, etc? Will the factory-standard tires work, or should I buy special set of tires? Should I sell the Volt and buy some other car e.g., 4WD)?

I have no experience driving or maintaining a car in cold weather. Any tips are welcome.

Thank you.

Hybrid cars do not perform as well in very cold temperatures as battery efficiency goes down. You may want to sell the Volt in California where it is better suited and buy something else, but the Volt will still work up there, it just wont get the mileage you are used to in winter, but it probably won’t get worse mileage than any other conventional car of its size, and you will benefit in the summer.

North Dakota is a pretty good sized state so the temperature extremes vary around the state. Buying a set of winter tires mounted on separate rims is a good idea no matter what car you have. If the area you are going to settle in has winter temperature lows below -34°F, then you should have the coolant changed to a 2:1 ratio instead of the usual 50/50. If you have recently had your coolant changed, you can have a predetermined amount drained out of your system and replace it with full strength.

For every 4 quart capacity of your cooling system, drain 1.2 qts of coolant from the system and replace with full strength antifreeze. That will get you close enough. You can have that done up there. In fact drain 1 /4 th of the coolant and replace with full strength will get you to 62.5% which should be good enough for just about anyplace in the lower 48.

A block heater or oil pan heater might be a good idea as well. At the very least, use a synthetic oil for winter. You can use it year round.

It’s new. It needs nothing extra for cold weather. Except a garage. With a heater.