Engage or Disengage Clutch at a Stop

One mechanic has told me that you should keep your clutch engaged at a stop. A friend of mine has advised against doing that since he claims that it is hard on the throw-out bearing. What is best for the clutch, to keep it engaged or to disengage it and put the car in neutral at a stop? Thanks for your input.

I’ve been driving manual transmissions for over 40 years. Be it my own vehicle or a big rig.

The throw out bearing is designed to hold the clutch out at a stop. And that’s the way I use it.

I’ve never replaced a clutch because the throw out bearing wore out. It has been because the clutch itself wore out.

Another urban myth.

Tester

On the other hand, I HAVE seen clutch failures caused by frozen or broken throw-out bearings…These sealed bearings must survive on the lube provided at the factory…“Riding The Clutch” is not a substitute for shifting into neutral…JMHO…

This discussion comes up every once in a while. The answers always seem to be about 50-50.

Personally I’ve never been one to sit at a light with my foot on the clutch. Ever. I have ridden with idiots who held their cars on hills by slipping the clutch. UGH! I have replaced several clutches, and I can attest that the throw out bearing was a cause for failure at least part of the time. Even when you have your foot on the clutch, there may still be minimal spinning contact between the clutch and the pressure plate and flywheel.

Why put extra unnecessary wear on any car component? Watch for the yellow light for the cross traffic, and slip it in gear. If the yellow light is not visible, so what if you take half a second to put your car in gear once you get a green light? That’s how you make a clutch last the life of the car.

See also: http://community.cartalk.com/discussion/2274401/extending-clutch-life

And: http://community.cartalk.com/discussion/2296636/tips-for-babying-a-clutch-transmission

There are more if you want to do a search.