Replacing throw-out bearing on a 2003 nissan frontier

hoping to get some advice, semi-detailed instructions, ideally a few photos demonstrating how to do this. i have the ability to accomplish the task, but have never done something like this before. i may or may not already have all the tools i will need. what will i need?

if money weren’t a concern, i might just pay somebody to do it. but it is and i am not opposed to getting dirty, learning something new, and feeling that sense of accomplishment. some of my tools and my jack are 1,000 miles away in storage. ideally, i can find someone in or around tuscaloosa who has everything i need and might be willing to guide me along the way. i can offer my services in trade.

i’ve also some suspension and other minor issues to look into. i’m new to tuscaloosa and will be here for about 6 months. it’d be great to meet like-minded people in the area who like to help each other out. know anybody? any suggestions?

thanks.

Tranny jack.

Do you have access to one?

Tester

unfortunately, i do not. the only jack i have is the factory pos for changing a tire. access to one, yes, that would be nice…

Is this a 4X4?

Tester

nae, 2wd, 4cyl. i’ll add that it has 160k and its possible that the clutch has never been replaced. i’m not an expert on feeling when a clutch is worn, but i would say its pretty good, considering. i’m not having any issues driving around town daily. i would say it is a bit stubborn about shifting into gear sometimes, but never slips. the TO bearing is not always an issue, ie, it could be worse. perhaps i could also use a new clutch plate. i really have no idea.

If you were going to go into this because of a throwout bearing problem then you should replace the entire clutch assembly along with the pilot bearing.
It’s pretty much a fact of life that if you don’t you will be taking it all back apart again.