2009 Nissan Altima Signals and e flashers not working

So one morning I noticed that my turn signals and emergency flashers were not working. The way I discovered this was that none of my internal indicators came on when my signal was engaged. Break lights, head light, and high beams all still work. I have checked the bulbs and fuses all of which are fine. I spoke with some car friends and they suggested the flasher relay or signal replay. I went to two different auto parts stores and both said that they could not find a part for my car. I called the dealership parts department and they said no there is no such part however they did have a light relay. When I asked if this part would affect the turn signals and emergency flashers they stated they did not know what the part did. I am kind of at a loss.

I’m no mechanic but I am pretty handy with my car and know lots of hobby mechanics for the things I cannot do myself. I am willing to take it to a shop however when they all charge for diagnosis I am hesitant. Mainly because I do not want to have two or more diagnosis to confirm one shops theory. I know this might be a bit silly however I come from a small town and with now living in a big city I tend to be overly cautious in these scenarios. This may also be due to my husband have no car experience and knowing that he got over charged a few times for repairs at near by shops (ie they charged him 60 for an air filter replacement and wanted to charge him 250 for stud replacements).

Please help I am at a loss and my commute each day tends to push 3 hours in heavy traffic and now I tend to be that person that seems to not know how to turn on my signal.