Gomer Pyle - Why do people associate this image with auto mechanics?

I haven’t been on this board for quite some time, I used to post here all the time but life, kids, and work keep me busy now. I am looking for feedback on this topic. Many people do not think highly of auto techs, they see them like Gomer on the Andy Griffith show or to David Puddy from Seinfeld… why? I’ve been a tech for 30 plus years and I have heard many reasons for this perception.

I’d like to hear from members of this board as to why this perception exists.

We don’t get this perception at all where I live. My lowest paid employee makes 620 per week and as far as I am aware from my church community and local government we are regarded as upstanding citizens of the community.

Perhaps the cartalk community fosters this opinion because the show itself is written with a touch of low-brow humor with regards to itself and other mechanics. Though this device is certainly worthwhile for entertainment it hardly reflects public opinion.

I don’t have that perception, and nobody with whom I associate has that perception, either.
Nowadays, the complexity of cars is such that somebody really dumb probably wouldn’t last very long as a mechanic.

Well…let me revise that statement.
Somebody that dumb wouldn’t last very long with a legitimate shop that is interested in retaining customers.

Wally owned the Mayberry service station and had a great reputation as a mechanic as I recall in the story line.

Somehow the name Gomer became synonymous with “simple minded hick” regardless of profession. That may have been more the result of “Gomer Pyle USMC,” rather than the “Andy Griffith Show.”

Actually, Gomer Pyle was a kind, trustworthy, and honest character. People might throw around his name as an insult, but I don’t see it that way.