Re: The Miata in the Snow

I was intrigued by the caller who complained her Miata was terrible in the snow, since I was in a similar situation. I’ve got a 2013 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon (which comes with 255/75R17 BFGoodrich Mud Terrain tires stock - great in deep snow and mud, but terrible on packed snow and ice due to its big, smooth tread blocks), and my wife has a 2012 Chevy Sonic (205/50R17). We’re in the Detroit area. We decided after last winter we wanted proper winter tires (good thing, since this season has been brutal so far).

Anyway, I did my research (I’m an engineer), and we decided to get complete wheel and tire sets for both vehicles, installed and balanced, from Sears (to avoid having to re-mount and re-balance the tires twice a year). I was going to bring my 5x8 enclosed trailer to haul away the old sets. I got the impression, when I placed my order and gave them the instructions, that the guy thought I was nuts - most people around here don’t bother buying winter tires, and those that do seem to have them mounted on the stock rims. But I have no doubt, despite the added upfront cost, that this was the way to go, and I think the guys gave the caller good advice.

Of course, if I’d been her, I wouldn’t be driving the Miata in the winter at all, due to the ground clearance and rusting issues - I’d have held onto the Subaru for that (unless it wasn’t in the budget to have two cars). Thoughts?

Freinds don’t let friends drive Miatas. Even with good winter tires, I doubt that car will handle very well in the snow. It is a very light rear wheel drive sports car. I’m sure they’re a lot of fun, but definitely not safe in anything but perfect weather/road conditions.