How to stop frost on windshield on the inside of the car?

I have a 2008 Mazda 3 with 63,000 km / 39 146 miles.
I bought it last year used with 50,000 km / 31 068 miles.

It is my first car and I have no car servicing experience.

I park my car on the street.
Last winter I noticed that I frequently got frost on the windshield on the inside of the car. Is there a way to stop this from happening?

This winter I want to avoid having to scrap the windshield on the inside with the heater on max.

Do you know if installing a window deflector will help?
I am thinking that if I leave one of the windows slightly open but covered with a window deflector that frost will not form on the inside of the windshield. Is this correct or just wishful thinking?

Thanks.

Does the car have AC?? If so turn the AC on (if it doesn’t automatically turn on when the defrost is on…like some cars do).

Frost on the inside is VERY strange. You likely have a leak somewhere. Either the windows, doors, or sunroof are letting water into the cabin, or there may be a coolant leak in your heater core.

Do you smell anything inside your car? Sweet smell means coolant, musty smell means mold from an outside leak.

Typically there is not enough moisture inside the cabin to form frost on the inside–I have lived in cold climates all my life (PA, NY, MD) and have never seen frost inside any of my vehicles.

Leaving a window cracked may help but you should fix the leak if you in fact have one.

In my experience, most cases of interior window icing are the result of one or more of the following car owner mistakes:

Using the recirculate function on the HVAC system
Failure to remove as much snow as possible from shoes before entering the car
Failure to remove wet floormats from the car in order to dry them
Keeping windows open, rather than using the HVAC system (on the A/C setting if necessary)