High pitched grinding noise and smoking

I’ve got a 2007 pontiac grand prix that I picked up off a guy for $900 and so far it’s been a head ache. So far, I’ve had to replace the power steering pump, pump lining, there’s a hole in the radiator, and now a mystery problem that me and my lack of car knowledge can’t diagnose.

Smoke/steam (smells burned) is coming from behind the engine and when the wheels are turned, it sounds like a high pitched grinding noise. I checked the oil, its fine. I filled the radiator with water as a temporary fix until I can afford to get the radiator fixed or repaired. Air conditioning only works on max setting. Before the problem occurred, I was pouring water into the extra reservoir when my friend started the car. Maybe the radiator sucked up some air while I was filling the reservoir.

Once again, I am a very beginner car owner and half the things I don’t know anything about. So please excuse my lack of vocabulary. Any help would be great. Thanks!

What is a “pump lining”? The high pitched grinding noise when the wheels are turned sounds like you’re low on power steering fluid. The air working on max only (you mean the fan only running on max, right?) is likely the resistor block for the blower motor.

How much “smoke/steam” is coming from behind the engine? Does it only do this when you turn the wheels? If it’s dripping, what color is it? Where exactly is it coming from?

Is there any fluid in the power steering reservoir?

No one sells a 2007 Grand Prix for $900 unless they know it’s junk. Get rid of this car before you waste any more money. You could potentially spend thousands of dollars and still have nothing.

“Smoke/steam (smells burned) is coming from behind the engine and when the wheels are turned, it sounds like a high pitched grinding noise.”

Are linings the hoses/lines to/from the power steering pump ? Could be that one or both are leaking fluid onto hot exhaust components and burning off.