Flat spot on one tire

Our mechanic found multiple flat spots on my daughters car during the last maintenance run. Looking through your FAQ and discussions I noticed a lot of skids and brake locking going on. My daughter doesn’t drive like that…she’s too afraid to. (Giving the benefit of the doubt.) Plus I would figure the flat spots would be on more tires. We queried WalMart (where we bought the tires) if it could be a defective tire. The manager said it was due to bad shocks. Now, I’m no mechanic but that just doesn’t make sense! What do you guys think?

Does your daughter have a boyfriend that she loans her car to?
Has she had to lock up the brakes in order to avoid an accident?

BC.

if it’s just one tire I’d suspect the shock or a sticking brake caliper combined with a completely clueless driver who can’t tell when a wheel is locked. My money’s on the shock. Since it’s only one it wouldn’t surprise me if someone driving the car hit a curb or a pothole.

Bad shocks/struts are a perfectly reasonable explanation for uneven tire wear. But if you keep going to WalMart for auto service that will be the least of your worries. Find a good, local, independent mechanic. In this case you might want a local alignment/tire shop.

Well here’s my experience but agree-go someplace else except Walmart. I bought a new 86 Buick Park Ave. It was a special order so never sat on the lot or was driven by anyone except off the truck. At about 30K, the left rear tire was getting some flat spots. I talked to the Goodyear dealer and he said that I needed a four wheel alignment. When I protested that it was brand new he said that transport can throw it off. I drove it a little more until it was more octagon shape than round and conceded to the 4 wheel alignment and put new tires on it. We drove it up to about 120K and never had a problem again. So I’d say have it aligned and also could be the struts.