Unexplained flat tire

My tire went flat and when I made it to the service station on the donut, they told me that there were no holes or damage to the tire. Is there anything that could have caused it to go flat, or did someone take the air out of it in an act of vengeance? I am a teacher, but I don’t think my students would have done it. I have two possible culprits, but even they seem questionable. The tire is still on the car and hasn’t caused us any trouble since. We drove all the way from DC to Connecticut on it and no problems. Hmm…

My first guess would be that the car was parked against the curb and it caused a leak either at the tyre bead or the valve stem was being flexed causing a leak.

it is possible that the tire was fairly low to begin with and lost air around the bead area. tire pressure should be checked at least once per month

Thanks for the feedback.

“The tire is still on the car and hasn’t caused us any trouble since.”
[list]Did The Service Station remove the tire / wheel assembly, inflate it and put it in a “dunk Tank” filled with water to observe for air bubbles indicating a leak ? [/list]

Rims can develop pinhole leaks and air can escape right through the metal.
[list]Does the car have steel or aluminum wheels ?[/list]

Sometimes rims can corrode at the tire bead area and cause leaks, sometimes the leaks won’t occur unless the tire is not maintained to full pressure as recommended.
[list]Do you frequently check your tire pressure ?[/list]

Really old tires can develop fine cracks that can leak under certain circumstances.
[list]How old is the leaky tire ?[/list]

A common source of leaks comes from defective air valves and these can cause intermittent leaks, depending on many factors. Aged valves can begin leaking and also many were manufactured that didn’t hold up well and were actually recalled.
[list]Did the Service Station employee wiggle the rubber valve stem while under water in the dunk tank ?[/list]