Replaced CV Joints...won't go!

Hello, This is my first time posting on the CarTalk Community, so hopefully I’ll get some good responses.

I’m the owner of a 1996 automatic shift Honda Accord. I got my neighbor to help me replace my CV joints / drive axles, and everything went as planned.

After driving the car for about 1 mile at low speeds (under 25 mph) the car then sounded like it slipped out of gear…The engine would just rev up and not go anywhere. Same for reverse.

Also, when I tried putting it into the “park” gear, it made a loud, continuous grinding sound, until I turned the car off. If I keep it in Neutral and then start the engine, the noise doesn’t happen.

Could anyone help me figure this out? Thanks!

Your transmission is turning but the power is not getting to the drive axles. The grinding when you put it into park is what shows the transmission is getting power.

Something in the differential part of the transaxle assembly is out of whack. Me thinks the backyard mechanics have missed something. It looks like a tow to a mechanic is in order.

I am going to guess that the splines have slipped out of position and that this is causing the drive axles to get no power.

Is it normal for these to slip out after installation? What if only one side slipped out…would that make a difference?

As far as I can tell (without tearing the whole thing down again) both joints are in there pretty well.