Rear alignment on all wheel drive Subaru

I have Subaru Impreza Outback Sport 2.2l engine. I’m getting new tires for it soon -General Altimax HP 205/60r15-

The tire place is including front alignment with mounting; should I get rear alignment as well? Does is make a diference that it’s all wheel drive? Also how important is speed rating on tires? Thankyou!

Is rear alignment necessary?

The primary, if not the only, purpose for wheel alignment is to ensure uniform tire wear. Mis-alignment can also cause an annoying ‘pull’ in the steering, but that will be accompanied by uneven tire wear. Examine the tires you are removing. If they are uniformly worn, then no alignment is necessary.

I was a service tech and automotive technology instructor 25 years ago. Then I moved to a desk job. My observation is that alignments are sometimes carelessly done by marginally competent technicians. There is a nonzero chance that they will start with a well aligned car and give you back a poorly aligned car.

With regard to the importance of speed rating - speed rating is critically important to the vendor who could be held liable if they install tires with a speed rating too low for your car, and a tire fails for ANY reason.

From the drivers’ perspective, speed rating has little or no importance. You are not going to drive faster than 110 or 128 mph for extended periods on a hot day with a 2.2 liter engine. If you were to do so on a public road in the US, something else would surely kill you before tire failure did.