Finding lost key fob

Does anyone know if there is a type of sensor that I could use to detect the exact location of a key fob that is lost within my vehicle? Seriously. The Intelligent Key for my Murano fell out of my pocket and slid under the driver’s seat while I was driving. While looking for it later, I think I pushed it under the carpet, through the opening for the ventilation tube. It is definitely in the vehicle, as the doors won’t lock and the ignition will start. I cannot find it after a lot of searching. I asked the dealer if they had a sensor to find it, and they said good idea but such device does not exist. They could not find the key fob, either, even after removing the driver’s seat. Before I have them deactivate it, I want to see if anyone knows whether it emits a radio signal that could somehow be detected?

I have no knowledge of such things, but I can suggest a low tech solution. Stop by an auto parts store and find a magnetic pickup - basically a magnet on the end of a stick - probe around all of the areas that it may have gone and you just may come up with it. These magnets are usually pretty strong and you wouldn’t necessarily need to make actual contact with the key.

Of course, you might first want to find out if the contact with a magnet would mess with whatever microprocessing stuff is in there.

Why, yes, it does emit a radio frequency in response to the polling of the car’s immobilizer system. You ask the car to start by pressing a button the immobilizer system wants to see some credentials and sends out a summons to the key fob. The key fob responds. There seem to be a range of frequencies used by key fobs, including 315 MHz, 418 MHz, and 433 MHz.

Linx technologies manufactures OEM-compatible aftermarket transmitters and receivers. You might consider contacting them or someone like them for advice.

LINX TECHNOLOGIES, INC.
159 ORT LANE
MERLIN, OR 97532
PHONE: (541) 471-6256
FAX: (541) 471-6251
www.linxtechnologies.com